top of page


May 31, 1981

Xi Alpha Lambda (XAL) Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. is located in the Prince William County area of Virginia. For more than 30 years, XAL has grown to be the largest chapter in the state, the largest chapter in the Eastern Region, and the third largest chapter in Alpha.

The History

Summer 1980

Fall 1980

May 31, 1981

The impetus for chartering XAL began in the late summer of 1980 when Brother Needham Kelly, Jr. and Brother Randall Palmer, III met to discuss the ideas of a new Alpha Phi Alpha chapter to serve brothers in Prince William and Southern Fairfax Counties. After a formidable amount of research and discussion, a consensus began to arise, and later that year, Brothers Kelly and Palmer met with Brother Ulysses X. White to discuss an active group that was focused on doing work in the community. Brothers Otto Williams and Otis Cox expressed the same interest and quickly expanded the search for new brothers in the Northern Virginia area.

Several months later following an interest group meeting which was held at Blue Bird Supper Club in Triangle, Va., 15 brothers voiced their support for the idea of forming a new graduate chapter. 

The idea became a reality and on May 31, 1981, Xi Alpha Lambda was chartered.

The first chapter banquet was held at the Fort Belvoir Officers’ Club, which was also the location for the chapter’s monthly meetings. The meeting location has since been moved, and XAL currently meets at South County Middle School in Lorton, Va.

34 Charter Members 

Bro. Otis G. Cox, Jr.
Bro. Robert L. Dinkins
Bro. Ira Dorsey
Bro. Howard W. Gholson
Bro. Arthur Gipson
Bro. Clarence M. Griffin
Bro. John Harper, Jr.
Bro. Raymond C. Haston, Jr

Bro. Edward Honor
Bro. Clifton Houston
Bro. Samuel A. Howell, Sr.
Bro. Samuel Hurst, Sr.
Bro. Avery J. Jackson
Bro. Chester F. Johnson
Bro. Paul L. Jones, Jr.
Bro. Horace E. Jordan
Bro. Needham N. Kelly, Jr.

Bro. Johnnie Lawton, Jr.
Bro. Sylvester H. Lipscomb
Bro. Abraham T. Logan
Bro. Clifton V. Longshaw, Jr.
Bro. David A. Madison, III
Bro. Stephen M. Madison
Bro. James McCall
Bro. Randall P. Palmer, III

Bro. Glenn L. Shannon

Bro. Sylvester L. Shannon
Bro. Lamar N. Stroud
Bro. Freddie L. Smith
Bro. Roscoe A. Swann, Jr.
Bro. Ulysses X. White
Bro. Otto Williams
Bro. Charles Young
Bro. Ryan S. Yuille

In The Community

The men of XAL consists mostly of active and retired military officers, government civilians, educators, and businessmen, and are leaders in the community who are constantly striving to project the positive image of Alpha men as Servants of All. The brothers of XAL have formed partnerships and actively participate in various community outreach programs throughout the Northern Virginia area. Some of the programs include the Alpha Academy mentorship program, the sponsoring of the Boy Scouts Troop #1906, Hopkins House ‘Make a Difference Day,’ Thanksgiving Day Homeless Shelter Feeding, Adopt-a-Highway, March of Dimes March for Babies, and a myriad of additional projects and events.

More than 20 years ago, Xi Alpha Lambda created the Ira Dorsey Scholarship Endowment Fund, Inc. (IDSEF) a 501 (c)(3)  nonprofit corporation founded in honor of our late charter Brother Ira Dorsey for the sole purpose of raising money for charitable and educational purposes. This organization is committed to providing one-time cash scholarships to prospective college students who meet certain academic and extracurricular criteria. Over the years, IDSEF has provided financial assistance scholarships ranging from $500 to $1,500 to more than 100 young men and women from throughout Northern Virginia, Maryland and the greater metropolitan Washington D.C. area.

The brothers of XAL are continually at work in ongoing efforts to hold the Light of Alpha high in every aspect of life. XAL membership has consistently included brothers who serve at the National, Regional, and State level in various offices servicing the fraternity. As a chapter we have amassed several awards and achievements at all levels of the fraternity including Eastern Region and VACAPAF Chapter of the Year along with receiving recognition from local organizations for our contributions. We are a proud brotherhood and chapter with rich roots in service and scholarship and an ongoing legacy of excellence.

Past Presidents

1981 – 1983 – Bro. Randall Palmer

1983 – 1985 – Bro. Ira Dorsey

1985 – 1987 – Bro. Otto Williams

1987 – 1989 – Bro. Roland Fletcher

1989 – 1990 – Bro. George Weaver

1990 – 1992 – Bro. Beverly Scott

1992 – 1994 – Bro. Will Griffith

1994 – 1996 – Bro. Larry Henderson

1996 – 1998 – Bro. Earl Richmond

1998 – 2000 – Bro. Harry Lumpkin

2000 – 2002 – Bro. Alvin Phillips

2002 – 2004 – Bro. Richard Clemmons

2004 – 2006 – Bro. William O. Wade, III

2006 – 2008 – Bro. Joseph Ward

2008 – 2010 – Bro. E. Christopher Washington

2010 – 2012 – Bro. Clifford Wilborn

2012 – 2014 – Bro. Floyd Jones

2014 – 2016 – Bro. Darryl Sharp, Sr.

2016 – 2018 – Bro. Jeff Dunn

2018 – 2020 – Bro. Melvin E. Cloud

2020 - 2022 - Bro. Jason Calhoun

2022 - 2023 - Bro. John Bradsher

bottom of page